NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA SURATHKAL



MINUTES

OF

44th SENATE MEETING

Date	:	24.01.2018 (Wednesday)
Time	:	4.00 p.m. onwards
Venue	:	Senate Hall 'C' Block N.I.T.K., Surathkal MANGALURU PIN - 575 025.



NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KARNATAKA, SURATHKAL POST SRINIVASNAGAR, MANGALORE – 575 025

Phone: (0824) 2474000 E- mail: registrar@nitk.ac.in Fax: (0824) 2474033 / 2474039 Website: http://www.nitk.ac.in

<u>Proceedings of the 44th Meeting of the Senate of N.I.T.K. Surathkal held on 24.01.2018</u> (Wednesday) at 4.00PM at the Senate Hall, 'C' Block - LHC of N.I.T.K. Surathkal.

.....

MEMBERS PRESENT:

K. Umamaheshwar Rao	 Chairman
M. B. Saidutta	 Member
T. P. Ashok Babu	 Member
Dwarakish G. S.	 Member
Ananthanarayana V. S.	 Member
Prasad Krishna	 Member
A. Mahesha	 Member
Lakshman Nandagiri	 Member
Nagaraj M. K.	 Member
Subba Rao	 Member
Hari Mahalingam	 Member
G. Srinikethan	 Member
A. Nityananda Shetty	 Member
A.Vasudeva Adhikari	 Member
Badekai Ramachandra Bhat	 Member
Varghese George	 Member
Katta Venkataramana	 Member
K. Swaminathan	 Member
M. C. Narasimhan	 Member
R. Shivashankar	 Member
S. Shrihari	 Member
Sitaram Nayak	 Member
Subhash C. Yaragal	 Member
P. Santhi Thilagam	 Member
K. Chandrasekaran	 Member
U. Shripathi Acharya	 Member
M. S. Bhat	 Member

44th Senate Meeting dated 24.01.2018

Minutes

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

Sumam David S.	 Member
B. Venkatesa Perumal	 Member
G. Ram Mohana Reddy	 Member
B. R. Shankar	 Member
Santhosh George	 Member
A. Kandaswamy	 Member
Murulidhar N. N.	 Member
Narendranath S.	 Member
Appukuttan K. K.	 Member
G. C. Mohan Kumar	 Member
Gangadharana K. V.	 Member
S. M. Kulkarni	 Member
Vijay H. Desai	 Member
A. O. Surendranathan	 Member
Jagannath Nayak	 Member
K. Narayan Prabhu	 Member
K. Rajendra Udupa	 Member
V. R. Sastry	 Member
Ch. S. N. Murthy	 Member
M. Govinda Raj	 Member
M. N. Satyanarayan	 Member
H. D. Shashikala	 Member
K. B. Kiran	 Member
Aloysius Henry Sequeira	 Member
P. G. Mohanan, System Manager-CCC	 Member
K. Ravindranath, Registrar	 Secretary

Preamble:

At the outset of the meeting Chairman welcomed all the members to the 44th Senate Meeting.

After a brief discussion, with the permission of the Chair, the Secretary Senate, began the deliberations on the Agenda Items.

Item No. 44.1: CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE 43rd MEETING OF THE SENATE HELD ON SEPTEMBER 15, 2017.

The Senate resolved to confirm the minutes of the 43rd Senate Meeting.

Dener

44th Senate Meeting dated 24.01.2018

Minutes

Page 2

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

Item No. 44.2: TO CONSIDER THE REPORT ON ACTIONS TAKEN ON THE MINUTES OF 43rd SENATE MEETING HELD ON SEPTEMBER 15, 2017.

The actions taken on the minutes of the 43rd Senate meeting were noted.

Item No. 44.3: ITEMS PLACED BEFORE THE 44th SENATE MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 24, 2018.

Discussion and Decision Items:

Item No. 44.3.1: To consider the proposal of Prof A. O. Surendranathan, Dept. of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering – Reg.

The Senate resolved not to deliberate the proposal as they were purely administrative issues. With regard to Item No. 1 of the proposal, the Senate opined that it is already existing in the academic regulation.

Item No. 44.3.2: To consider the list of Panel of Experts for Selection of Faculty through Recruitment - Reg.

The Senate resolved that the Panel of Experts for Selection of Faculty needn't be placed in the Senate, since it is a confidential matter. Chairman Senate was authorized to update / modify the list as and when necessary.

Item No. 44.3.3: To consider the request to condone the delay in Submission of Research Proposal - Reg.

The Senate resolved to condone the delay in submission of Research Proposal of Ms. Mahadevi S (Reg. No. MA15F04), Mr. Sachin Angadi (Reg. No. EE15P01), Mr. Tribid Debbarma (Reg. No. 155140CS15P01) and Ms. Anila Cyril (Reg. No. CV15F02).

It was also resolved to terminate the PhD registration of Mr. Preeti Jacob (145088AM14P02) as she had submitted the proposal after two and a half years of PhD registration. It was further resolved that the scholars who have been terminated from PhD programme due to delay in proposal submissions may submit a request for permission to reregister. The Director/Senate-Chairperson may take the decision considering the merit of the case.

Item No.44.3.4: To consider the request to condone the delay in Submission of Synopsis – Reg.

The Senate resolved to condone the delay in submission of Synopsis by Mr. Kodeeswara Kumaran G (Reg. No. EE09P03).

leves

44th Senate Meeting dated 24.01.2018

National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal

Item No. 44.3.5: To consider the request to condone the delay in Submission of PhD Thesis – Reg.

The Senate resolved to condone the delay in submission of PhD Thesis by Ms Nayana Patil (Reg. No. CV08P01)

Item No. 44.3.6: To consider the discontinuation of the financial assistance to the PhD scholars on re-registration of PhD programme – Reg.

The Senate resolved to authorize Chairman Senate to take appropriate decision on humanitarian ground regarding disbursement of financial assistance to the re-registered PhD Scholars on case to case basis.

Item No. 44.3.7: To consider the Formulation and Implementation of plagiarism policy for Promotion of Academic Integrity and Prevention of Plagiarism in academic and research work – Reg.

After detailed deliberations, the Senate resolved to constitute a committee for formulation and implementation of plagiarism policy for promotion of academic integrity and prevention of plagiarism in academic and research work in the institute.

Table Agenda Items

Item No. 44.3.8: To consider the request of Mr. Saurabh Kumar Sharma, 1st year MCA Student admitted during the academic year 2017-18 for readmission to MCA programme - Reg.

The Senate resolved not to approve the request of Mr. Saurabh Kumar Sharma, 1st year MCA Student for re-admission to MCA programme as he was already terminated based not meeting the eligibility requirement.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(K. Ravindranath) Secretary-Senate, NITK

(K. Umamaheshwar Rao) Chairman-Senate, NITK